The GreenMark Team

Steven Bloembergen, Ph.D.

Steven-BloembergenSteven Bloembergen, Ph.D.
Founder, Chairman and CEO

Dr. Steven Bloembergen has 30 years of leadership experience in the development and commercialization of biomaterials.  He previously co-founded EcoSynthetix in 1996, which held its IPO in 2011 (TSX: ECO), and was Canada’s largest IPO in the Cleantech sector.  In 2012, Steven received the Ernst and Young “2012 Entrepreneur of the Year Award”.  He helped prove out the base technology with pilot lines and production sites in the US and Europe and a manufacturing capacity for the starch nanoparticles in excess of 200 million lbs/yr.  He also built a broad global IP portfolio and established a broad network of university collaborators.  These collaborations using ECO’s biopolymer nanoparticles for dental and medical applications resulted in the foundational technology for GreenMark.  He is the inventor of over 25 patent families related to biomaterials.  He received his Ph.D. in Polymer Science and Engineering from the University of Waterloo.

Wendy Bloembergen, MD, MS

Wendy-BloembergenWendy Bloembergen, MD, MS
Director of Clinical Affairs

Dr. Wendy Bloembergen is an Internist and Nephrologist who is pursuing her entrepreneurial interests after spending a number of years raising her family.  Prior to this Wendy consulted for a venture capital firm as a medical analyst.  Before this taste of the business world, she maintained an academic position at the University of Michigan, Department of Internal Medicine (Nephrology), where she treated patients and served as a Principal and Co-Investigator on multiple NIH grants focused on epidemiologic studies of patients with chronic renal disease.  She is the author of more than 20 peer reviewed articles and several book chapters.  Wendy received her MD from the University of Western Ontario, London, Ontario, and her Internal Medicine and Nephrology fellowships at McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario and University of Western Ontario.  She subsequently completed a Research Fellowship at the University of Michigan Medical School and an MS in Clinical Research Design and Statistical Analysis at the University of Michigan School of Public Health.

Nathan Jones, Ph.D.

Nathan Jones, Ph.D., Director of Engineering

For the past 5 years Nathan was a Ph.D. Candidate at the University of Michigan, with Thesis Advisor Prof. Joerg Lahann.  He successfully completed his Ph.D. Defense in September 2017.  Nathan is a key resource on a 50:50 GreenMark and State of Michigan funded SCIP project with Prof. Carlos González Cabezas in the Department of Cariology, Restorative Sciences and Endodontics at the UM School of Dentistry.  Nathan has been collaborating with Dr. Bloembergen since 2009, first at EcoSynthetix and University of Waterloo and then at the University of Michigan.  He is coinventor of the GreenMark dental technology and has been actively involved in the company’s startup activities, strategic planning and execution.  Nathan will represent GreenMark full time as part of the 6 month SCIP-funded project.

Joerg Lahann, Ph.D.

Joerg-LahannJoerg Lahann, Ph.D.
Director and Advisor

Dr. Joerg Lahann is a Professor of Chemical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering and Biomedical Engineering at the University of Michigan (UM).  He also serves as the Director of the UM Biointerfaces Institute and as the co-Director of the Institute for Functional Interfaces at the Karlrsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany.  Joerg is a co-inventor of GreenMark’s dental technology.  He is a co-author of more than 190 papers and has contributed to more than 30 patents and patent applications.  He has been selected by Technology Review as one of the top 100 young scientists and is the recipient of the 2007 Nanoscale Science and Engineering Award, an NSF-CAREER award, and both a single-PI and a team Idea award (2006 & 2011) from the US Department of Defense.  He serves on the board of Seventh Sense, a health technology company.  Joerg received a Ph.D. from the RWTH Aachen in Germany and completed postdoctoral training in the research group of Prof. Robert S. Langer at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  He joined the University of Michigan in 2003.

Kenneth J. Pienta, MD

Kenneth-PientaKenneth J. Pienta, MD
Director and Advisor

Dr. Kenneth J. Pienta is the Donald S. Coffey Professor of Urology and Director of Research at the Brady Urological Institute of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.  He is also a Professor in the Departments of Oncology and Pharmacology and Molecular Sciences and serves as a faculty member in the Cellular and Molecular Medicine and Pathobiology Programs at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine.  He is also a Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering in the Whiting School of Engineering at Johns Hopkins University.  Ken is a two-time American Cancer Society Clinical Research Professor Award recipient.  Ken has a proven, peer-reviewed track record in organizing and administering a translational research program that successfully incorporates bench research, agent development, and clinical application.  He has international expertise in the development of novel therapeutic programs for prostate cancer.  He is the author of more than 400 peer-reviewed articles, and been the principal investigator on numerous local and national clinical trials.  Ken is the holder of multiple patents, is co-founder of OncoFusion where he serves on the Scientific Advisory Board and he has served as a Scientifc Advisory Board member or consultant to biotechnology companies including Curis, Amgen, J&J, Millenium, Gtx, Myriad Genetic Labs and Compendia.

Frank van Luttikhuizen, CPA

Frank-van-LuttikhuizenFrank van Luttikhuizen, CPA
Director and Advisor

Frank van Luttikhuizen is a Chartered Professional Accountant.  Frank was CFO of EcoSynthetix Inc. from its inception in 1996 until he retired in 2009.  Prior to that he was a CFO for a venture company which made numerous investments in software ventures and a biotechnology venture in 1996.  He possesses strong intuitive and analytical skills and has experience in leading negotiations with customers, regulators, and stakeholder groups.  He was a board member for various private and public companies.  He has successfully managed organizations through significant strategic change through the development of key operating plans and by providing “hands-on” management, direction, coaching, and mentoring as required.  He has a Bachelor of Science degree from The University of Western Ontario and an Honors Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Windsor.